PH aims to rule SEAG cycling

THE 27-member national cycling team will seek top honors in the 30th Southeast Asian Games.

Members of the national coaching staff said the Team Pilipinas will be going for the 13 gold medals that are at stake.

Top rider El Joshua Carino leads the national squad, which will race in the three disciplines, of road, BMX and mountainbike.

National coach Ednalyn Hualda said the road team will be bannered by Carino, Ismael Grospe, Jonel Carcueva, Junrey Navara and Marcelo Felipe.

And they are listed in the massed start (individual and team), and with Daniel Ven Carino as the team alternate.

On the other hand, Ronald Oranza, Johnmark Camingao, George Oconer and Jan Paul Morales are listed in the team time trials.

John Mark Galeda is racing in the individual time trial with Oranza and Nichol Pareja, who is the reserve.

Marella Salamat banners the women’s team in the massed start with Jermaine Prado and Jasmin Velasco.

Salamat and Prado are also listed in the ITT.

Former Asian MTB Series champion Ariana Dormitorio will see action the Olympic crosscountry with Avegail Rombaon(women), Nino Surban and Edmhel Flores (men).

The downhill riders consists of Eleazar Barba Jr., John Derrick Farr (men), Lea Denise Belgira and Naomi Gardoce (women).

Former Asian Games and SEA Games champion Daniel Caluag will be joined by his brother Chris in the BMX race and time trial.

Allan Alfaro and Renz Viaje are entered in the flatland free style event.

Philippine Olympics Committee president and Philcycling chief, Congressman Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino, said the squad wants to sweep all 13 gold medals at stake in the three disciplines.

The 30th Southeast Asian Games will be held in the Philippines from November 30 until December 11, 2019.

This edition will be marked by the first major decentralization in the history of the Games, with competition venues spread in 23 cities across the country, divided into four clusters, all located on the island of Luzon.

The clusters include Metro Manila, Clark, Subic/Olongapo, and a fourth cluster consisting of stand-alone venues. This will be the fourth time that the Philippines will host the games and its first time since 2005. The country was also host in the 1981 and 1991 editions of the games. 

This edition is most notable for being the first edition to include e-sports and obstacle course as well as having the highest number of sports in the history of the games, at a total of 56.

Topics: national cycling team , 30th Southeast Asian Games , Team Pilipinas , SEAG cycling , BMX , mountainbike

Related stories:

No related stories matched this topic.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.