26.2 C
Tuesday, February 27, 2024

3 aspire for top tennis post

- Advertisement -

There are three individuals who will contest the presidency of the Philippine Tennis Associations when elections are held on Monday at the Century Park Hotel in Manila.

Businessman sportsman Jean Henri Lhuillier will seek the post against Congressman Edwin Olivarez of Paranaque and former national player John Rey Tiangco.

The three have confirmed their intentions before an election body that was formed by the Philippine Olympic Committee, and is headed POC secretary general, atty. Wharton Chan.

The new set of leaders in the PHILTA is expected to resolve the leadership crisis that has been hounding the organisation for the last three years.

That was when the PHILTA was suspended by the International Tennis Federation starting on Dec. 3, 2020.

- Advertisement -

The ITF ruled that the PHILTA’s board of trustee did not truly represent the stakeholders of the sport from the regional level.

Trouble has been brewing from within the PHILTA following the non-recognition of Atty. Antonio Cablitas as Philta president.

The POC maintains that Atty. Cablitas is not a member of the Philta Board, and a dialogue with the group of Lhuillier has not materialized.

Amendment of the by-laws have been made, and the Philta Board of Trustees needs to have 13 members from geographic sectors consisting of the country’s various regions.

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles