26 C
Monday, March 4, 2024

VACC honors partners on 25th anniversary

- Advertisement -

As part of its recent 25th founding anniversary, the Volunteers Against Crime and Corruption (VACC) recently gave out awards to its loyal members, law enforcers, judiciary members, and media personalities who have made significant contributions to its fight against criminality and to the promotion of good governance.

VACC president Arsenio Evangelista and Department of Interior and Local Government Secretary Benhur Abalos led the awarding ceremonies at Club Filipino in Greenhills, San Juan City last Sept. 30.

Among the media awardees were Rio N. Araja of the Manila Standard; Marlon Purificacion of People’s Tonight and People’s Journal; Arlie Calalo of the Manila Times and Remate; Rod Vega, Glen Juego, Henry Atuelan, and Rene Sta. Cruz of dzBB; Mar Gabriel of Net 25; Zyann Ambrosio, Sherrie Ann Torres, and Henry Omaga Diaz of ABS-CBN; and Bayani Bacuño Jr., Jun Veneracion, and Emil Sumangil of GMA Integrated News.

Public Attorney’s Office chief Dr. Persida Acosta was the recipient of the Hall of Fame award in recognition of her professional excellence, leadership, and dedicated public service.

The families of the late DILG undersecretary Martin Diño, ex- VACC chairman; Department of Migrant Workers secretary Maria Susan “Toots” Ople; Dr. James Dy, Chinese General Hospital president; and Rosita Roque, ex-VACC chief coordinator, received posthumous awards, along with a special citation for broadcast journalist Mike Enriquez, who passed away recently.

- Advertisement -

Cory Quirino, VACC chairperson; Merle Jimenez-San Pedro, VACC vice president; and Anastacia “Annie” Cereza, national coordinator, were recipients of the loyalty award.

The group also recognized several retired and active officials of the Philippine National Police, National Bureau of Investigation, Armed Forces of the Philippines and Department of Justice.

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles