27.5 C
Tuesday, November 28, 2023

FESSAP submits final quantitative entry to Universiade

The Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines submitted its Quantitative Entry to the 31st Summer Universiade, also known as the World University Games, which will be held in Chengdu City, Sichuan Province, China from the June 26 to July 7.

Edwin Fabro

China President Xi Jinping has been invited by International University Sports Federation acting President Leonz Eder, host City Government of Chengdu Mayor Wang Fengchao and Federation of University Sports in China president Hao Ping to grace the opening ceremony of the Summer Universiade, considered the Olympic Games of collegiate students.

The Philippine delegation to Chengdu Universiade will be led by FESSAP president and delegation head Edwin C. Fabro and assistant head of delegation and designated flag bearer Alvin Tai Lian.

Fabro will attend the Universiade’s multiple technical and FISU functions of different sports disciplines such as athletics, archery, badminton, fencing, rowing, swimming, table tennis, tennis, taekwondo and wushu.

The Quantitative Entry pertains to the number of officials and student-athletes a participating country intends to send to the Universiade.

Alvin Tai Lian

Prof. Robert Milton Calo is the head of the Philippines’ Administration Secretariat in the Chengdu Universiade, while Cecilia Sarmiento is the Assistant Head of Administration and Finance.

Team officials of different sports are Joseph A. Sy (Athletics), Loren Balaoing (Archery), JC Clarito (Badminton), Edgar Galeno (Swimming), Dante Boquiren (Table Tennis), Antonio Quiza (Tennis), and Sean Elijah Siy (Wushu).

The 22 student athletes from different colleges universities for athletics are Algin Gomez, Clint Niño Neri, Hokett S. Delos Santos, Jake A. Calacug, Jeffrey Albania, John Lee Villaruel, John Lloyd H. Cabalo, Jonathan Talbot, Jose Matteo D. Crisostomo, Keinth Emman A. Laquio, Kyle Bontuyan, Louie C. Agawa, Manuel Garrido, Mel James Taguilan, Ray Vicente, Rucher Lucero, Jovita Castillo II, Kyra Sheena Lacambra, Kaye Salagan Taguiam, Alexie Brooks, Alana Julianne Halagueña and Cerah Moren from Arizona State University.

The eight tennis student-athlete candidates are Laurenz Quitara, Joaquin Deleon, Isagani Manuel Iii, Al S. Quiza, Jhastine Red Ballado, Hannah Dela Cruz, Zhyryn Dislag and Gabby Zoleta.

- Advertisement -


Popular Articles