CMMA, EDUKCIRCLE honor Kapamilya network, shows

The Kapamilya network took home 11 CMMA’s including major wins in the fields of TV and radio. Failon Ngayon sa DZMM won Best News Commentary for radio, while its television counterpart on ABS-CBN won Best Public Service Program. The Atom Araullo led special on climate change, Warmer, on ANC, the ABS-CBN News Channel, also won Best TV Special, while Anthony Taberna’s Tapatan Ni Tunying received a special citation for Best News Magazine.

On the entertainment side, two of the network’s shows shared the Best Drama Series award - Be My Lady and FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano, while Dance Kids was chosen as Best Entertainment Program. The music video for the song “Thank You For The Love,” which featured top Kapamilya love teams, took home the Best Music Video award, as the Kapamilya station ID for 2015 featuring the same song won Best Station ID. The Filipino Channel’s 2015 Christmas station ID titled “Galing ng Filipino” was also nominated in the same category.  

"Be My Lady" lead cast, led by Erich Gonzales and Daniel Matsunaga, receiving the award for Best Drama Series
Completing the Kapamilya winners at the CMMAs, which was established in 1978 to stress the role and responsibility of media and its practitioners in influencing society, are My Only Radio (MOR) 101.9, which won Best Branded Radio Ad for their “MOR Graduation Day” and ABS-CBN Davao’s “Mag TV Na,” which got a special citation for Adult Educational/Cultural Program.

Meanwhile, ABS-CBN also dominated the EduKCircle Awards, winning in 19 of the 29 categories. Vice Ganda, Daniel Padilla, and Coco Martin brought home three awards each, with Martin even being inducted into the Hall of Fame for Drama. Other Hall of Fame inductees include Anne Curtis for Advertising, Salamat Dok’s Bernadette Sembrano and Alvin Elchico for Health Shows, and Carmina Villaroel-Legaspi and her family for Advertising.

Also big winners were Kathryn Bernardo and Sarah Geronimo with two awards each. The two were named Most Influential Celebrity Endorsers of the Year, alongside other popular Kapamilya stars like Liza Soberano, Angel Locsin, Enrique Gil, Daniel Padilla, James Reid and Nadine Lustre. Kathryn was also Most Outstanding Female Artist of the Year while Sarah was included in the Most Influential Concert Performers of the Year awardees with Darren Espanto and Daniel Padilla. Reid and Lustre, who are collectively known as JaDine, also won Love Team of the Year.

Receiving acting awards were Bea Alonzo (Most Influential Actress of the Year), Xian Lim (Drama Actor of the Year) and Kim Chiu (Drama Actress of the Year), who shared her award with fellow Kapamilya actress, Bela Padilla. Cited for their hosting skills were Boy Abunda (Best Talk Show Host), Piolo Pascual (Best male Variety Show Host), Toni Gonzaga (Best Female Variety Show Host), Luis Manzano (Best Game Show Host), and Robi Domingo (Best Talent Show Host).

At ABS-CBN Integrated News and Current Affairs, Karen Davila was named Best Female News Anchor, while Ted Failon was the Best Investigative Journalist of the Year at the EdukCircle, which has been awarding individuals who have made significant contributions to the showbiz and media industry since 2011.

Topics: Kapamilya network , CMMA , EDUKCIRCLE , Failon Ngayon sa DZMM , Best News Commentary , ABS-CBN , Best Public Service Program , Atom Araullo , Warmer , Best TV Special , Anthony Taberna , Tapatan Ni Tunying , Best News Magazine
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1