Governors Mamba, Garcia granted fresh terms

Governors Manuel N. Mamba and Abet Garcia have won fresh three-year terms in Cagayan province and Bataan, respectively.

Governors Mamba, Garcia granted fresh terms
Cagayan Provincial Comelec Chairman Manuel Castillo (second from right), lawyer Roderick Bautista, and Provincial Prosecutor Ronnel Nicolas proclaim Gov. Manuel N. Mamba (center) as the winner of the provincial elections at the Sangguniang Panlalawigan session hall on Thursday. Mamba’s wife, lawyer Mabel Villarica-Mamba, and his children Jesus Maria and Mario Noel witness the event. Butch Gunio
In Tuguegarao City, Mamba was proclaimed by the Provincial Board of Canvassers led by Provincial Commission on Elections Chairman Manuel Castillo, Vice Chairman and Provincial Prosecutor Ronnel Nicolas, and Atty. Roderick Bautista early Thursday at the Sangguniang Panlalawigan Session Hall.

Garcia, Vice Governor Cris Garcia and Bataan 2nd District Rep. Joet Garcia likewise made it a family affair when their province’s PBOC declared them winners on Thursday morning.

Abet Garcia defeated Limay Mayor Ver Roque by about 178,000 votes, while Cris and Joet Garcia were unopposed.

Mamba, who ran as an independent, garnered 256,103 votes to beat Cagayan 3rd District Rep. Randy Ting (168,872) and former governor Alvaro Antonio (92,350).

Ting’s wife Nancy of the National Unity Party could not hold on to the third district seat, beaten by contractor Joseph “Jojo Pulsar” Lara of the ruling PDP-Laban party for the House of Representatives seat by 44,000 votes. 

Another PDP-Laban bet, Ramon Nolasco, was unopposed for congressman of Cagayan’s first district, while Sam Vargas Alfonso outpolled administration bet Darwin Sacramed and independent Melvin Vargas Sr. for the House seat in the second district.

Mamba was with his wife, lawyer Mabel Villarica-Mamba. and children Jesus Maria and Mario Noel, younger brother and reelectionist Tuao Vice Mayor William Mamba and wife, his sisters Narcing and Carol, and their supporters when he was proclaimed the winner.

In Bataan, proclaimed board member winners in the 1st district were Benjie Serrano, Jomar Gaza, Rey Ibe, Bong Galicia, and Khristine dela Fuente.

In the 2nd district, proclaimed board members were Iya Roque, Manny Beltran, Ed Calimbas, Pepeng Villapando, and Popoy Del Rosario.

Governors Mamba, Garcia granted fresh terms
Comelec Provincial Canvassers in Bataan proclaiming reelected 2nd District Rep. Joet Garcia (2nd from left), Gov. Abet Garcia (third from left), Vice Gov. Cris Garcia (center), and 1st District Rep. Geraldine Roman (third from right). Jessica Bacud 
On her social media account, Vice Governor Cris Garcia expressed her profound gratitude to the people of Bataan for the fresh mandate given to her family.

Topics: Manuel N. Mamba , Abet Garcia , Commission on Elections , Manuel Castillo , Geraldine Roman
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House