Valiant academic champions recognized

In recognition of the country’s “fearless” academic heroes and 21st century learning innovators, Bayan Academy, in partnership with Rex Bookstore, Knowledge Channel, ABS-CBN Lingkod Kapamilya and the Department of Education, recognized this year’s recipients of the 5th Excellence in Educational Transformation Awards or EETA in a ceremony held recently at Dolphy Theater.    

For the fifth consecutive year, EETA recognized the innovative efforts of schools in transforming themselves into institutions that promote learning effectiveness and school efficiency while being true to their vision, mission and values. 

Four schools and two schools division were awarded the highly esteemed accolades in the various categories.   

The EETA recipients are: Lawit Elementary School (Innovations in Access to Education and Learning Methodology for Learning Effectiveness), Department of Education–Schools Division of Carcar (Innovations in Quality Education: Learning Materials and Learning Methodologies for Learning Effectiveness), Department of Education-Schools Division of Camiguin (Innovations in Access to Education, and Learning Spaces and Places), Chiang Kai Shek College (Innovations in Leadership, Governance and Management), Create and Learning Paths School and Diliman Preparatory School (The Most Transformative School for Learning Effectiveness and School Efficiency).   

The winners of the 5th Excellence in Educational Transformation Awards
Dominador Buhain, Rex Group of Companies chairman and current president of the Philippine Book Development Federation Inc., commended the recipients for their significant contributions in uplifting the quality of teaching and learning in the country. “We all believe in the value of promoting learning effectiveness and efficiency in schools. For us at Rex Bookstore, being an educational publisher since the 1950s, we know that our learning solutions are just one part of the equation.  Equally important, if not more important are the schools, which are the hub of learning. They are our students’ second home. How these schools adapt to change greatly influence how our learners adapt to the increasing demands of this complex modern world,” he said.

Dr. Ed Morato, president of Bayan Academy, lauded the award recipients for using “weaknesses” such as their smallness and inferior resources as a driving force to customize programs and craft superior strategies that deliver “real” and sustainable beneficial results for students.    

“This award means so much to us because this represents our collective efforts and our collective aspirations. I dedicate this award to all the men and women behind our school’s triumph. Without them, our success will be nothing,” said Dr. Gregorio Cyrus Elejorde, Schools Division Superintendent of DepEd School Division of Carcar.

For the second consecutive year, the OML accolade, named in tribute to Dr. Oscar M. Lopez, chairman-emeritus of the Lopez Group of Companies and chairman of the board of trustees of the Knowledge Channel Foundation Inc. was awarded to an educator who has developed and implemented transformative programs and has led a school, district, division, or region towards excellent learning outcomes. 

This year’s OML Award for Educational Leadership was given to Dr. Maria Cristina Robles, principal of Navotas National High School.  Dr. Robles has been the principal for eight years of the school with a student population of 3,000 yearly. She holds various degrees and have been given higher position in DepEd but her love running the school and engaging with its stakeholders led her and the school itself outstanding performance.  

The 5Th EETA awarding ceremony concluded with the launch of the book “Excellence in Educational Transformation: Text and Cases, Volume 5” by Dr. Eduardo Morato Jr. and the announcement of next year’s 6th EETA. 

Topics: Bayan Academy , Rex Bookstore , Knowledge Channel , ABS-CBN Lingkod Kapamilya , Department of Education , 5th Excellence in Educational Transformation Awards
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1