Hino Motors rolls out modern jeepneys

By MJ Blancaflor and Dexter Tilo

Transport cooperatives from Taguig and Pateros received 279 and 137 modern jeepney units on Wednesday, respectively, following the implementation of the PUV modernization program of the Department of Transportation (DOTr).

The PUV modernization program is set in motion as Hino Motors Philippines officially turns overthe first batch of modern jeepney units to the Taguig Transport Service Cooperative and Pateros-Fort Bonifacio Transport Service and Multi-Purpose Cooperative. The turnover ceremony was attended  by Department of Transportation Asec. Mark de Leon, and LTFRB NCR Regional Director. Zona Russet Tamayo, Taguig City Mayor Laarni Cayetano, among others.
Taguig Transport Service Cooperative and Pateros-Fort Bonifacio Transport Service and Multi-Purpose Cooperative were given four-wheeler AC modern jeepney units from Hino Motors Philippines.

The Class II jeepneys use the Beep Card system and feature a speed limiter, GPS, CCTV, a dashboard-mounted camera, and air-conditioning. 

Built according to the requirements set by the DOTr, one jeepney can accommodate 23 commuters in comfortable, seat belt-secured, and perimeter seats.

The Hino jeepneys, which are Euro IV-compliant, aim to deliver a more efficient engine while adopting green technology to reduce harm to the environment.

The approved routes of the jeepney units include Gate III of Fort Bonifacio to Guadalupe Market and Bagumbayan, Taguig to Pasig. 

The PUV modernization program is envisioned to replace some 250,000 jeepneys nationwide with environment-friendly, convenient, and comfortable public utility vehicles.

The Taguig TSC and Pateros-Fort Bonifacio TSMC are among the three preselected cooperatives that adopted the PUV modernization program, the first being Senate Employees Transport Service Cooperative (SETSCO).

Last month, the government’s PUV modernization program kicked off with a formal turnover of newly-acquired vehicles at the Senate compound in Pasay City.

“The success of this program is due to the public utility vehicle drivers and operators who agree that the way to modernization is acceptance,”  DOTr Assistant Secretary Mark De Leon said.

“Without the program, we will all return to a very inefficient system in public transportation,” De Leon stated during the turnover ceremonies at the Philippine Army Officers Clubhouse.

Also present in the turnover ceremonies are Taguig City Mayor Laarni Cayetano, LTFRB NCR Regional Director   Zona Russel Tamayo, and MMDA Director for Traffic Enforcement Terdy Taguinod.

The turnover ceremonies were also attended by Vicente Mills Jr., chairman of Hino Motors Philippines.

“Panaginip ito ni President (Rodrigo) Duterte at DOTr Secretary (Arthur) Tugade at ngayon ay nangyari na,” Mills said. 

Mills also expressed his hopes to partner with other transport groups to implement the program for a more sustainable and environment-friendly transportation system in the country.

“We strongly believe that our quality products can make commuting safer and more efficient for Filipinos,” Mills said.

Hino Motors Philippines Corporation is involved in providing buses, trucks, spare parts, and other automative-related products and services in the country.

Topics: Taguig Transport Service Cooperative , Vicente Mills Jr , Laarni Cayetano , Hino Motors Philippines , Mark De Leon
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House