Siklab Atleta Awards recognize top athletes

The first Phoenix Siklab Youth Sports awards honored 50 sports achievers in a simple, yet memorable rites last year at the Century Park Hotel in Manila.

The awardees were 24 youth athletes, aged 17-years-old below, who made waves in local and international tournaments.

Theyconferred the POC Young Heroes Awards trophies.

Phoenix Siklab Youth Sports awards
President Rodrigo Duterte, Dennis Uy, Presidential Adviser for Sports and Philippine Sports Commission Chairman William Ramirez are shown with the country’s top athletes. 
Heading the list were Kim Remolino for triathlon, Rex Luis Krog (cycling), Chezka Centeno (billiards), Samantha Kyle Catantan (fencing), Nicole Tagle (archery), Maria Takahashi (judo), Alex Eala (tennis), Veruel Verdadero (athletics) and boxers Chriztian Pitt Laurente, Kenneth Dela Pena and John Vincent Pangga.

Also included in the premier honor roll were Mary Angeline Alcantara (taekwondo), Rafael Barreto (swimming), Angelo Kenzo Umali (bowling), Caloy Yulo (gymnastics), Kaitlin De Guzman (gymnastics), Bea Hernandez (bowling), Sarah Barredo (badminton), Allaney Jia Doroy (chess), Ghen-Yan Cruz (muay), Johnzenth Gajo (wushu), AJ Lim (tennis), John Paolo Rivero (weightlifting) and Bhay Newberry (swimming).

Outstanding athletes who have shone in major school leagues and championships in their respective sport, as well as the Philippine National Games, were bestowed the POC Super Kids trophies during the historic affair supported by Standard Insurance, Philta, Vernica, Philippine Bowling Federation, Veloci, Omila Sports Academy, Cignal and Digital Out of Home (DOOH).

The POC Super Kids awardees were Kai Sotto (basketball), Tara Borlain (athletics), Marco Umgeher (alpine skiing), Dexy Manalo (canoe-kayak), Morris Marlos (sailing), Rizumu Ono (table tennis), Rosegie Ramos (weightlifting), Daniel Quizon (chess), Jane Linette Hipolito (weightlifting),Kieth Absalon (football),Justin Ceriola (jiu-jitsu), Trojan Dangadang (canoe-kayak), Christine Talledo (dragonboat) at si Eya Laure (volleyball).

Those who excelled in national multi-events like Batang Pinoy and Palaro Pambansa became PSC Children’s Games for Peace awardees.

They included Jayvee Alvarez (athletics), Rick Angelo Sotto (athletics), Kaila Soguilon (swimming), Althea Michel Baluyot (swimming), Ethan Zafra (archery), Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh (swimming), Karl Jahrel Eldrew Yulo (gymnastics), Princes Sheryl Valdez (arnis), Jared Cole Sua (archery) at si Phoebe Nicole Amistoso (archery).

It was the first time that an award body like Siklab put the highlights on budding sports superstars who are 17 years old and below.

“We would like to inspire our young athlete and give them more reasons to persevere, pursue their dreams and make our country proud in bigger stages,” said June Navarro, president of the PSC-POC Media Group that pin cooperation with the Philippine Olympic Committee and the Philippine Sports Commission.

Navarro also clarified that although there are basic criteria set in giving the awards, some athletes may not have won a gold yet “but their life-changing stories were enough to inspire others in keeping a positive attitude towards their goals.”

To cap the night, Siklab paid tribute to two Olympic silver medalists, boxer Mansueto “Onyok” Velasco Jr., and lady weightlifter Hidilyn Diaz.

Velasco and Diaz, whose exploits have spurred a lot of young athletes’ Olympic dreams, received Sports Idols trophies.

Topics: Phoenix Siklab Youth Sports , Siklab Atleta Awards , athletes ,
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.