Highlanders top WGAP Circuit opener

Tagaytay Highlands kept the momentum of its WGAP Cup romp as it snatched victories in Classes A and C to kick off its title drive in the 2019 Champion WGAP Circuit at the Villamor Golf Club recently.

Marianne Bustos carded 38 Stableford points, while Chesca Imperial, Sandy Romualdez and Virginia Bote backed her up with 35, 34 and 32 points, respectively, as the Highlanders edged the Forest Hills side, 139-137, in a tight battle for top honors in the premier division of the course-hopping circuit organized and conducted by the Women’s Golf Association of the Philippines.

Tagaytay, which dominated last year’s WGAP Cup featuring the top five teams after the eight-leg WGAP Circuit, also snared the Class C crown with a 144, nipping Villamor in the countback, to seize control in the early going of the eight-stage circuit with six overall points.

Rosario Dimson scored 40 points while Marissa Vergara, Maria Luisa Jayme and Connie Mamaril carded 36, 35 and 33 points, respectively, as the Highlanders foiled the hosts, who drew 38, 37, 35 and 34 points from Grace Bañas, Mylene Dolonius, Maria Catherine Yulo and Angela Castro, respectively, in their Class C duel.

Alabang also subdued Villamor, 143-140, to reign in Class B with Arlene Barclay and Erika Dy scoring identical 37 points, Greely Oposa putting in an impressive 35-point output and Tess Yap chipping in 34 points for the Muntilupa-based squad in the three-division event sponsored by Champion. Villamor edged Forest Hills (140) in the countback for runner-up honors.

Forest Hills, meanwhile, got 39 points from Jane Magada, the Class A individual winner, while Jonah Ilagan, Grace Cho and Tess Staub put in 37, 32 and 29 points, respectively, for the Antipolo-based squad which nipped Sta. Elena to clinch the overall crown last year.

Manila Southwoods, behind Mariel Tee’s 36 points, Sunshine Baraquiel’s 34 points and Mafy Singson and Laia Barro’s identical 33 points, also made quite an impression with a 136 to finish third in Class A while Forest Hills (140) and Eagle Ridge (141) placed third in Classes B and C, respectively.

Villamor, which ruled Classes A and B at home last year, came out empty-handed this time, settling for runner-up honors in Classes B and C with Katrina Yupangco and Melissa Gozum firing 40 and 34 points, respectively, and Angel Navalta and Mary Ann Reyes each adding 33 points for the Class B squad.

Jee Cabochan, meanwhile, shot 41 points to run away with the Class B individual plum while leading Forest Hills’ 140 output that included 37, 32 and 30 points from So Han Uy, So Young Lee and Leyuan Liang, respectively.

Canlubang’s Theresa Enriquez, on the other hand, grabbed the Class C individual title with 42 points but her team struggled to finish sixth with a 133.

Topics: ​Tagaytay Highlands , 2019 Champion WGAP Circuit , Villamor Golf Club , Chesca Imperial , Sandy Romualdez , Marianne Bustos
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1