PCSO Gold Cup, Philracom Grand Sprint lineups

The Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office recently announced the entries running in this year’s PCSO Presidential Gold Cup, Philippine horseracing’s most prestigious annual event.

The race will be held at the Manila Jockey Club’s San Lazaro Leisure Club in Carmona, Cavite. Eight runners will compete over 2,000 meters: Manalig Ka, to be ridden by jockey CS Pare with a handicap weight of 56.5 kgs; Electric Truth, MA Alvarez, 55; Highway One, VR Dilema, 55; Dixie Gold, OP Cortez, 59.5; Radioactive, KB Abobo, 55.5, and coupled entry Sepfourteen, JA Guce, 55; Salt and Pepper, JB Hernandez, 55; and Pangalusian Island, JP A Guce, 55.

 The 1st place purse is P3 million, 2nd place P1 million, 3rd place P500,000, and 4th place P300,00. There is also a P200,000 prize for the breeder of the winning horse. The Philippine Racing Commission is a co-sponsor of the race.

The PCSO Gold Cup race, which has been run for nearly 50 years, is recognized by international authorities as our equivalent of a Grade 1 race. It is an annual tradition that is an important and significant part not only of the sport itself but also of the racing culture. Many horse owners, if not all, aspire to someday winning a Gold Cup to grace their trophy wall. Jockeys dream of adding it to their life’s achievements. Aficionados look forward to it as the grace point of the racing calendar.

PCSO also sponsors the First Lady Silver Cup race as well as other stakes races throughout the year, as a form of support for the racing industry. Before the adoption by PCSO of the modern lottery system in the ‘90s, the numbers of winning PCSO sweepstakes tickets were linked to the results of a special sweepstakes horse race.

PCSO and the racing industry’s connection goes back many decades, and in the interest of the sport and of tradition, we hope that the partnership lasts as long as racing in this country does.

* * *

This Sunday, Philracom will stage the Grand Sprint Championship on Dec. 2 at Metro Manila Turf Club in Malvar, Batangas.

Running over 1,200 meters are Boxmeer, Cleave Ridge, Dinalupihan, Lakan, Pinagtipunan, Puting Biyaya, Shelltex Magic, Son Also Rises, and Song of Songs (the last two are coupled entries).

A total of P1 million is allocated for prizes as follows: 1st, P600,000; 2nd, P225,000; 3rd, P125,000; and 4th, P50,000.

As part of its year-end salvo of stakes events, Philracom is holding the Chairman’s Cup on Dec. 16 at the Philippine Racing Club’s Santa Ana Park in Naic, Cavite.

The 2,000-meter race offers a total of P2 million in prizes allocated from 1st to  4th. The deadline for nomination of entries is on Dec. 4, and declaration on Dec. 10.

Philracom also reminds horse owners and breeders that the deadline for submission of annual stallion returns and stud book returns shall be no later than the last working day of this year.


Dr. Ortuoste is a writer and researcher. FB: Gogirl Racing, Twitter: @drhoarsewhsprr 

Topics: Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office , PCSO Presidential Gold Cup , Manila Jockey Club
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.