Davao, San Juan fight for all marbles

For the last time this season, Davao Occidental and San Juan collide as they dispute the first-ever national championship of the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League.

Davao, San Juan fight for all marbles
MPBL MVP. Bacoor, Cavite Rep. Strike Revilla (right) accepts the MPBL Datu Cup 2018-2019 Most Valuable Player (Regular Season) and All-MPBL First Team for Bacoor City Striker Gab Banal. Joining in accepting the award from MPBL commissioner Kenneth Duremdes (middle) was Joel Banal, Gab’s dad and a multi-titled basketball player and coach himself. Lino Santos
Game time is 7 p.m. Thursday night in the winner-take-all to be played at the Rizal Memorial College in Davao City. 

The Cocolife-backed Tigers denied the Go-For-Gold-supported Knights a grand party right at their home court following a 77-66 win in Game 4, sending the series back to the south.

 With momentum on their side, the Tigers are hoping to win that crowning jewel that would make the entire province of Davao proud.

 But momentum doesn’t guarantee Davao Occidental a win and head coach Don Dulay knows it too well.

 “We still need to go out there and play. We just have to take it from them,” added Dulay. “Yes, playing in front of our home crowd would be nice, but the outcome still depends on us. We just have to do our part.”

This means Davao Occidental will need another collective effort from Billy Robles, Eman Calo, Leo Najorda, big man Bogs Raymundo and Finals’ MVP-candidate Mark Yee to put themselves in a better position to beat the Knights.

 The Knights, on the other hand, will have to play it the right way, involving everybody on the groove of things—from gunners John Wilson and Mac Cardona, big men Larry Rodriguez and Larry Muyang, high-leaping guard Mike Ayonayon and spitfire guard Orlan Wamar.    

MPBL founder and chief executive officer Senator Manny Pacquiao is going to award the multi-million golden trophy to the champion squad and ball rings to the key members of the champion squad and he will be joined in the awarding ceremony by league commissioner Kenneth Duremdes.

 Also to be feted Thursday night are the Finals MVP and the Coach of the Year.    

Topics: Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League , Davao Occidental , San Juan , Manny Pacquiao
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA