Pro league opens 44th year Sunday

After a lengthy break, the Philippine Basketball Association is back with a bang.

The league will open its 44th season on January 13 in a big way with a lot in store at the Philippine Arena in Bocaue, Bulacan.

The top performers from the 43rd season will first be awarded in the Leo Awards at 4 p.m., with June Mar Fajardo expected to be named the Most Valuable Player for a record fifth straight time.

Following that, the new season is bound to open shop as the opening ceremonies will be conducted with the parading of the teams, along with their respective muses.

The main course will be the clash or rivals Barangay Ginebra and TNT KaTropa.

The Gin Kings and the Tropang Texters resume their rivalry with different scenarios.

Ginebra will be parading its stacked and intact roster, while TNT KaTropa presents an intriguing new core after its drastic retooling in the off-season.

While Ginebra still has gunners LA Tenorio, Greg Slaughter, Japeth Aguilar, Joe Devance and Scottie Thompson, TNT no longer has Terrence Romeo and instead, it will present new faces in David Semerad, Michael Miranda and Brian Heruela to help Jayson Castro, Troy Rosario and Roger Pogoy.

Commissioner Willie Marcial and Chairman Ricky Vargas will spearhead the opening festivities.

Topics: Philippine Basketball Association , Leo Awards , Barangay Ginebra , TNT KaTropa , Willie Marcial , Ricky Vargas
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA