Exciting time, season for PBA, says Chairman Vargas

The Philippine Basketball Association is all ready for its coming 44th season.

Exciting time, season for PBA, says Chairman Vargas
PBA officials (from left) Siliman Sy (Governor of Blackwater), Erick Arejola (NorthPort), Rodrigo Franco (NLEX), Alfredo Panlilio (Meralco), Ricky Vargas (TNT), Atty. Mamerto Mondragon (ROS), Richard Bachmann (Alaska), PBA Commissioner Willie Marcial, Atty. Raymond Zorrilla (Phoenix Pulse), Demosthenes Rosales (Columbian Dyip), Rene Pardo (Magnolia), Robert Non (San Miguel), Al Francis Chua (Barangay Ginebra) flash the thumbs’ up sign. Lino Santos
With the season-opening Philippine Cup just a few days away, the PBA is excited to get the ball rolling.

For a start, the league held its pre-season press conference yesterday at the Conrad Hotel in Pasay City to kick-off the lead up to the opening day.

“It’s going to be an exciting time and season for us in the PBA,” said league Chairman Ricky Vargas. “The teams have retooled. They have new line-ups and we all look forward to that.”

Firing right away, the league offers a fiery opening game this Sunday, between crowd-darling Barangay Ginebra and TNT KaTropa at the Philippine Arena in Bocaue, Bulacan as fireworks are very much anticipated.

In a new opening-day feature, the league will first hold the annual Leo Awards to start the season as it will honor the best performers from last year.

Once again, San Miguel Beer ace June Mar Fajardo is expected to bag a record fifth straight Most Valuable Player win as he is the heavy favorite after leading the Beermen to their fourth straight championship in the Philippine Cup.

The Gin Kings and the Tropang Texters resume their rivalry with different approaches.

Ginebra will be parading its stacked and intact roster, while TNT KaTropa presents an intriguing new core after its drastic retooling in the off-season.

While Ginebra still has gunners LA Tenorio, Greg Slaughter, Japeth Aguilar, Joe Devance and Scottie Thompson, TNT no longer has Terrence Romeo and instead, it will present new faces in David Semerad, Michael Miranda and Brian Heruela to help Jayson Castro, Troy Rosario and Roger Pogoy.

Last 43rd season, the three San Miguel Corporation teams took home all the three championships.

San Miguel continued to reign supreme in the Philippine Cup, Barangay Ginebra took the Commissioner’s Cup and Magnolia was back on top in the Governors’ Cup.

Topics: Philippine Basketball Association , Ricky Vargas , Barangay Ginebra , TNT KaTropa , June Mar Fajardo
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.