Vicky Morales is 2015 Adamson Media Awardee

GMA News pillar Vicky Morales was hailed as the Adamson Media Awardee for 2015 in a ceremony held at the Adamson Theater on Feb. 18.

Morales, who co-anchors GMA’s flagship primetime newscast 24 Oras and hosts public affairs programs Wish Ko Lang (GMA) and Good News (GMA News TV), is the fourth Kapuso news personality to receive the accolade following Howie Severino (2011), Jessica Soho (2012), and Kara David (2013).

Vicky Morales (third from left) receives the Adamson Media Award. With her
are (from left) Bro. Henry Escurel C.M., VP for Academic Affairs; Dr. Servillano
T. Marquez Jr., Dean of the College of Education and Liberal Arts; Fr. Gregorio
Bañaga Jr., C.M., University President; Mr. Marc Pacoma, Chairperson of the
Communication Department; Fr. Max Rendon C.M., VP for Finance; and
Dr. Liria Dacanay, Dean of the College of Science.
Besting 118 candidates from broadcast, print, and new media, Morales won through a survey conducted in select partner communities of Adamson University (AdU) and via a vote-casting among the various departments of AdU.

Now on its fifth year, The Adamson Media Award recognizes media practitioners whose works “advocate poverty alleviation, education, and public information” and create “awareness among the public of the different critical and social issues” in the country.


Martin Escudero,  Best Actor
for Positive
It was a day unlike any other, when the country’s stakeholders in the tourism industry joined forces at the Travel Tour Expo 2015 recently held at the SMX Convention Center, Pasay City. All were united with the same mantra, “Visit the Philippines Year (VPY) 2015,” the year-long invitation from the Tourism Promotions Board (TPB) for everyone to discover and experience the country’s must-visit destinations and events.

Luchi Cruz Valdez,  Best Female News
Program Anchor
Organized by the Philippine Travel Agencies Association (PTTA), this year’s Travel Tour Expo is by far the biggest in its 22-year history, with nearly 300 exhibitors from hotels, airlines, resorts, domestic tour operators and travel agencies.

As a symbol of their unity, Department of Tourism Undersecretary for Tourism Development Benito Bengzon and TPB Chief Operating Officer Domingo Ramon Enerio III led the ribbon cutting with the Travel Tour Expo 2015 Organizing Committee, PTAA Board of Trustees and other guests. In his speech, Bengzon praised PTAA’s efforts in opening new gateways in the country to promote domestic tourism.

L-R: TPB’s Nedalin Miranda, Margie Moran-Floirendo, Arnold Gonzales,
Geraldine Gentozala and Ochie Cruz
The spirit of fun was alive throughout the expo’s opening, ignited by the cultural performance of San Pablo Dance Troupe. The guests were the first ones to enjoy visiting the booths at the country’s biggest convergence of stakeholders in the tourism industry.

During the expo, TPB presented VPY 2015 with an eye-catching booth, featuring tasty treats and images that showcased the country’s colorful festivals and must-see events. Several exhibitors also signed up to support the campaign through the Visit the Philippines Year 2015 microsite:


Tourism Promotions Board COO
Domingo Ramon Enerio III
News5, TV5’s News and Information Division, emerged as the most awarded news organization in the recently concluded 13th Gawad Tanglaw sa Sining at Kultura awarding ceremonies, which was held last week at the University of Perpetual Help System in Las Piñas City.  TV5 bagged a total of 10 Gawad Tanglaw awards, six of which were for News5’s news and public affairs programs and hosts. 

Sandara Park
TV5’s primetime newscast Aksyon got the big honor as Best News Program while News5’s Head and Aksyon main anchor Luchi Cruz-Valdes was recognized as Best Female News Program Anchor.  Cruz-Valdes also received the Gawad Tanglaw award for her public affairs program Reaksyon, which was cited as Best Public Affairs Program by the academe-based award-giving body. 

DOT Secretary Ramon Jimenez
Also honored with Gawad Tanglaw awards for News5 were Lourd de Veyra as Best Male News Program Anchor, T3: Enforced as Best Public Service Program, Aksyon sa Umaga for Best Morning Program. 

TV5 also received recognition for its game-changing and quality entertainment and sports programs, with Martin Escudero bagging the Gawad Tanglaw Best Actor Award for the groundbreaking drama Positive. Long-running game show Who Wants To Be A Millionaire was also honored as Best Game Show, along with TV5 flagship program Talentadong Pinoy as Best Reality Talent Show. Sports5, TV5’s sports production arm, also received a special Gawad Tanglaw Developmental Communication Award for Comprehensive Coverage for its 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup coverage.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA