Nora Aunor is Urian’s lifetime achievement awardee

The country’s one and only Superstar, Nora Aunor, was honored at last Tuesday’s 38th Gawad Urian with Natatanging Gawad Urian (Lifetime Achievement Award).

Aunor was present to accept the honor given to her by motley group that calls themselves manunuri or critics.

Nora Aunor
UP Professor Grace Javier Alfonso, president of the group, read the award’s citation before calling Aunor to receive the trophy. Prior to that, there was also a video clip showing the actress’ various roles.

On stage, after receiving the trophy, Aunor held back her tears (of joy, I suppose) and read from a prepared list of people she would like to thank and share the award with.

“Thank you so much to everyone I have worked with all these years. I promise that I will do even better at my craft because of this recognition,” she said.

She also expressed her gratitude to her loyal fans who flocked in full force to the venue saying that if until now her fans still love her, she loves them even more.

Prior to her Natatanging Gawad Urian award, Nora has reaped 20 nominations in the Gawad Urian and seven Best Actress awards.

Nora Aunor was honored with
Natantanging Gawad Urian
Meanwhile, the group of critics lavished on Lav Diaz’s film Mula Sa Kung Ano Ang Noon with four major awards, including Best Picture and Best Director. The five-hour film also won for writing and editing.

Diaz was nowhere near the venue. The people who accepted the trophies for the film said he was in Palawan shooting scenes for his next movie.

 Meanwhile, first time winners dominated the acting categories. Eula Valdez and Martin del Rosario were named Best Actress and Best Supporting Actor for Dagitab, respectively. Allen Dizon and Gladys Reyes meanwhile voted Best Actor and Best Supporting Actress for Magkakabaung.

The 38th Gawad Urian was also star-studded. Some of the most talented artists in Philippine cinema like Brilliante Mendoza, Nonie Buencamino, Shamaine Buencamino, Nova Villa, Angel Aquino, Angeli Bayani, Paulo Avelino, Jolina Magdangal, Angelica Panganiban, Sandino Martin, Martin Del Rosario, Alex Medina, Jed Madela, Kyla, Darren Espanto, and Gwyneth Dorado witnessed the night’s shining moments.

Gladys Reyes, Best Supporting
Actress for Magkakabaung
 Asia’s Got Talent grand champion El Gamma Penumbra also wowed the crowd with their special opening number that they dedicated to Philippine Cinema.

The Gawad Urian Awards is considered the most esteemed film awards in the Philiippines. The nominees and the winners are chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP).

 The MPP members are Rolando Tolentino, Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Mario Hernando, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Benilda Santos, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente, and Lito Zulueta.

38th Gawad Urian winners

Best Picture – Lav Diaz,

Mula Sa Kung Ano ang Noon


Best Director – Lav Diaz,

Mula Sa Kung Ano ang Noon


Best Screenplay - Lav Diaz,

 Eula Valdez, Best Actress for
Mula Sa Kung Ano ang Noon


Best Actress- Eula Valdez, Dagitab


Best Actor – Allen Dizon, Magkakabaung


Best Supporting Actress - Gladys Reyes,



Best Supporting Actor –Martin del Rosario, Dagitab


Best Cinematography -Neil Daza, Bwaya


Martin del Rosario, Best
Supporting Actor for Digital
Best Editing -  Lav Diaz,

Mula Sa Kung Ano ang Noon


Best Production Design -Popo Diaz,



Best Music -Erwin Fajardo, Bwaya


Best Sound –Corinne De San Jose,



Best Documentary –Walang Rape sa Bontok


Best Short Film –Kinabukasan

by Adolf Alix Jr.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1