Med student bags Miss Manila 2014 title

TWENTY-three year old beauty and medical student Krischelle Halili won the Miss Manila 2014 crown. This Bb. Pilipinas 2014 alumna bested other four finalists with her answer to the question, “What would be the perfect slogan for Manila?” Halili answered, “I think I can promote the City of Manila with a tag line ‘Manila, Life Happens Here!’ Because in Manila, we have the center for excellent education like UST and the university belt, we have the seat of power, Malacañang, and we have the center for business and commerce.”

Manila Mayor President Joseph “Erap” Estrada
kisses on the cheek  Miss Manila 2014 Krischelle
Halili.                              Ted Pelaez
Apart from Halili, the top five included first runner up Princess Angela Abella, second runner up Angelina Gabrena Ong, third runner up Kayesha Clauden Chua, and fourth runner up Julian Avrine Flores.

Special awards were given to Kayesha Clauden Chua as Online and Texters’ Choice, Angelina Gabrera Ong as Choice of the Press, Julian Avrine Flores as Miss Photogenic, Shiela Mae Morales as Best in Talent, Queenie Bautista as Miss Congeniality, Princess Angela Abella as Miss Beautiful Skin, Shymain Macaso as Miss Creamsilk, Angelina Gabrena Ong as Best in Evening Gown, and Princess Angela Abella Best in Swimsuit.

As Miss Manila, Halili will serve as an ambassador of the capital city and its charities during her reign. Manila’s beauty queen aims to become a doctor and studies at the University of Sto. Tomas and Centro Escolar University of Manila.

Manila Mayor  President Joseph “Erap” Estrada revived the Miss Manila beauty pageant and hopes that this project would raise enough money for the purchase of at least 100 dialysis machines meant for Dialysis Centers of MARE Foundation Inc.

The members of the Board of Judges were former Miss Universe Gloria Diaz, April Love Jordan, Ernesto Bong Sta. Maria, Raymond Isaac, Danny Dolor, Nathalie Den Dekker, Michael Carandang, Secretary Bienvenido Laguesma, Dr. Steve Mark Gan, Dr. Luisa Aquino, Dennis Perez, Francis Libiran, Senator Tito Sotto III, Gretchen Barreto, Secretary Jose Bitoy Pablo, Honorable Fang Pengl and Congressman Sherwin Gatchalian.

Sarah Geronimo, Martin Nievera, Mark Bautista, and Basil Valdez, among others, provided the coronation night’s entertainment while Edu Manzano and Derek Ramsay hosted the program held on Araw ng Maynila at the PICC Plenary Hall.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House