Nominees in USTv Students’ Choice Awards

CELEBRATING its Unang Dekada (first decade), the USTv Students’ Choice Awards announced recently the television programs, performers, and networks that have been nominated.

The USTv Awards was created in 2004 in recognition of the power of television and mass media, as well as a need to make TV more responsible to the audience.

Teatro Tomasino’s Juvenile Dance Troupe hits
the stage for USTv Unang Dekada
The awards are given to programs that have substance and those that educate, evangelize, reconcile faith and reason, and promote truth in the context of charity. Most of all, the awards serve as a reminder to the men and women in media that young people are watching and keeping a keen eye on them and their work.

“Makabuluhang Telebisyon Hinubog ng Kabataan Ngayon,” is the theme of this years awards and Thomasians will again take an active role in this call for responsible programming on TV.

The 10th USTv Student’s Choice Awards are divided into four main categories: Religious, News and Public Affairs, Entertainment, and Special Awards. As a special citation for Unang Dekada, the Outstanding Thomasian Male/Female Media Personality will be introduced starting this year.

The start of the online voting for USTv Unang Dekada Students’ Choice Awards was announced on Nov. 21. Voting through the students’ e-LEAP accounts will be until Jan. 9, 2014.

The nominees for this year are: Rated K–”Senakulo” (ABS-CBN), Reporter’s Notebook–”Santo Papa” (GMA) and Brigada–”Bokasyon” (GMA News TV) for Students’ Choice for Catholic Feature; TV Patrol (ABS-CBN), 24 Oras (GMA) for Students’ Choice of News Program, Korina Sanchez–Rated K and Bandila (ABSCBN), and 24 Oras (GMA) for Students’ Choice of News Program; Ted Failon and Korina Sanchez of TV Patrol (ABS-CBN), and Jessica Soho of State of the Nation (GMA News TV) for Student’s Choice of Male/Female News Host; Matanglawin and Rated K (ABS-CBN), and Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho (GMA) for Students’ Choice of Magazine Program; Korina Sancez of Rated K and Doris Bigornia of Mutya ng Masa (ABS-CBN), and Jessica Soho of Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho (GMA) for Student Choice of Magazine Program Host; Kabayan Reports: Gusto Kong Mag-aral and Agosto 21: Ang Pagpatay kay Ninoy Aquino (ABS-CBN) and Camera Juan (GMA) for Student’s Choice of Documentary Special; Sports Unlimited (ABS-CBN) and Sports Pilipinas and News TV All Sports (GMA News TV) for Students’ Choice of Sports Program; Dyan Castillejo and Mark Nelson (ABS-CBN), and Chris Tiu (GMA) for Students’ Choice of Sports Personality; Banana Split Extra Scoop (ABS-CBN), Bubble Gang (GMA), and Wow Mali Pa Rin (TV5) for Students’ Choice of Comedy Program; The Voice of the Philippines and Minute to Win It and Pilipinas Got Talent Season 4 (ABS-CBN) for Students’ Choice of Reality/Game Show; Toni Gonzaga of TVOP, and Luis Manzano of PGT 4/KDOND (ABS-CBN) and Ryan Agoncillo of Talentadong Pinoy (TV5) for Students’ Choice of Reality/Game Show Host; Kris TV and The Buzz (ABS-CBN) and Startalk (GMA) for Students’ Choice of Talk Show, Kris Aquino of Kris TV, Boy Abunda and Toni Gonzaga of The Buzz (ABS-CBN) for Student’s Choice of Talk Show Host; ASAP 18 and It’s Showtime (ABS-CBN) and Eat Bulaga (GMA) for Students’ Choice of Variety Show; Toni Gonzaga of ASAP 18, Anne Curtis and Karylle of Its Showtime (ABS-CBN) Student’s Choice of Variety Show Host; Juan dela Cruz, Be Careful With My Heart and Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN) for Students’ Choice of Drama Program; That Winter the Wind Blows, Rooftop Prince and Absolute Boyfriend (ABS-CBN) for Students’ Choice of Foreign Drama Program; ABS-CBN Foundation, Inc., GMA Kapuso Foundation, Inc., TV5 Alagang Kapatid and Kamanggagawa (UNTV) for Students’ Choice of Network Foundation; Kim Atieza (ABS-CBN), Ryan Agoncillo (TV5) and Jessica Soho (GMA) for Student Leaders’ Choice of TV Personality, I-Witness, Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho and Reporter’s Notebook (GMA) for Student Leaders’ Choice of TV Program; and ABS-CBN Corp., GMA Corp., TV5 Corp., and UNTV Corp. for Student Leaders’ Choice of TV Network.

This year’s USTv Student’s Choice Awards will culminate with a grand awards ceremony, USTv Unang Dekada Students’ Choice Awards Gabi ng Parangal, in February at the UST Quadricentennial Pavilion. - Carla Mortel



COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA